Technologically Inspired

June 20, 2010

I am a Unschooler, and I am alive.

Alright, first things first. I haven’t posted in almost a year, but I haven’t forgotten about this blog, I’m currently thinking of where I am going to take it content-wise in the future, and if I want to buy it a domain name.

Next up, I am an unschooler. This means, until I started taking community college classes of my own volition, I NEVER went to any kind of school, at any time in my life.

There are of course, some unschoolers who have been to school and quit, but I have the good fortune of parents that didn’t want to send me to school at all, so I haven’t had to waste a single second of my childhood in one of those dumps.

A theme which will ring loudly in my future writings, is my annoyance at those ignorant idiots who think that unschoolers don’t have a proper education.

I never went to school before college, I almost never even studied anything. I just learned stuff from living.

I taught myself to write, and taught myself a fair bit of math, and a lot about computers. This spring I finished my second semester of college, I got an A in two classes and a B+ in my third. The B+ was a kind of music history, and I got an A in intro to applications programming (Programming with Java), and an A in game design(ok, that was just easy). None of this was all that hard, even writing a research paper, which I had never done before.

Unschooling hasn’t given me any disadvantages in college, or in work. It has however, given my a great deal of happiness, resourcefulness, and amazingly good friends.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

